What song did elton john write about marilyn monroe?

In 1973 Elton John and Bernie Taupin wrote the song Candle in the Wind in honor of Marilyn Monroe.

---

"Candle in the Wind" is a threnody with music and lyrics by Elton John and Bernie Taupin. It was originally written in 1973, in honor of Marilyn Monroe, who had died 11 years earlier.