How many states are in the southeast region of the united states?

There are twelve states that make up the southeast region of the United States, which include Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, Arkansas, Tennessee, and Kentucky.