What is the difference between a modem and a router?

A modem connects to the internet supplied by your internet service provider. The modem can connect directly to your computer or smart TV, but it also will connect to your router if you want WIFI. The router creates your local WIFI network and connects it to the internet via the modem.

---

A modem brings your internet signal into your house. A router distributes it to your devices.