Why are dolphins so smart?

Their brains have 2 hemispheres just like humans, but theirs are split into 4 lobes instead of 3 like ours. The 4th lobe hosts all of the senses, while in a human the senses are split. Having all senses in 1 lobe allow them to make very fast and complex judgements, making them extremely intelligent.

---

The Dolphin's larger and more complex brain makes it possible for social relationships and echolocation, a vital component in communication and navigation. Modern day dolphin’s brain size compared to their body size is second only to humans.