Where did the name reindeer come from?

The word reindeer most likely comes from the Old Norse word 'hreindyri' which is derived from the word 'dyr' meaning 'animal'. It also originates from 'hreinn ', a word that by itself refers to the horned animal commonly known as reindeer.