What was the first restaurant invented?

According an often-repeated account that was first published in 1853, the first restaurant was opened in 1765 by a Parisian named Boulanger. Boulanger's establishment on rue des Poulies, near the Louvre, served mostly bouillons restaurants—that is, "restorative broths."