Where did the name sloppy joe come from?

Ghioto insisted that the sandwich originated in Havana. ''Sloppy Joe's was a bar in Havana in the 30's owned by a guy named José García,'' she said. ''The bar got its name because his place was always a mess, and the ropa vieja sandwich served there came to be known as a sloppy Joe.