Can you clean iron with vinegar?

Vinegar is an excellent cleaner for your steam iron. Mix half water and half vinegar and fill the tank. Let the steam run and you'll find a lot of grit released. Rinse thoroughly with distilled water and heat again to make sure your clothes don't wind up with a vinegar smell.