How long does it take to form a kidney stone?

Most stones form due to a combination of genetics and environmental factors and take months of not years to form. Risk factors include high urine calcium levels; obesity; certain foods; some medications; calcium supplements; hyperparathyroidism; gout and not drinking enough fluids.