Is it pistachio a nut?

The pistachio isn't really a nut at all. Technically, it is a “drupe,” a fleshy tree fruit that contains a shell-covered seed. With pistachios we discard the fruit flesh for the tasty seed within. The opposite is true with other drupes such as stone fruits like peaches, cherries and apricots.