Why are sunsets pink?

The path of light is bent by air in a phenomenon known as Rayleigh scattering, in which short wavelengths are bent more than long wavelengths. At sunset, the light travels through a thick column of air to get to your eyes, so blue light is scattered to the side, and red and orange remain.