How do you swim in animal crossing new horizon?

You can either casually wade into it from the sand, or jump from some rocks if there are any about, or your pier. Just press A when you are ready to enter and you will be swimming before you know it. Once in, you can hold down A to paddle, or keep pressing A to swim.