When does a puppy stop growing in height?

The amount of time it takes for a puppy to grow to their full size depends on what breed of dog they are and how big they'll get. Small dog breeds typically stop growing by the time they're 6 to 8 months, but it can take large dog breeds anywhere from 12 to 18 months to reach their full size.