Who are porgy and bess?

‘Porgy and Bess’ is an opera written by George Gershwin. Porgy is a disabled black beggar, while Bess is the love interest of Crown, her violent boyfriend. Porgy tries to rescue Bess from Crown and from a drug dealer.