Why was president johnson impeached?

Violating the Tenure of Office Act by attempting to replace Edwin M. Stanton, the Secretary of War, while Congress was not in session and other abuses of presidential power

---

President Andrew Johnson was impeached for "high crimes and misdemeanors." Nine of the articles of impeachment were because he removed Edwin Stanton as the Secretary of War, which violated the "Tenure of Office Act". Although President Johnson was impeached, the Senate acquitted him.

---

Andrew Johnson was charged with "high crimes and misdemeanors". He violated the Tenure of Office Act which required Senate approval to remove certain office holders when he attempted to replace the Secretary of War with someone else of his own choosing.