What weapons were used during world war two?

all types. Depended on the confrontation or battle being waged. Some fights called "skirmishes" involve a few soldiers on both sides fighting with each other. The American GI has normally armed with an M1 rifle, while the German was armed with the Mauser rifle. Some had machine guns though.