What makes a berry a berry?

A true berry is a fleshy fruit formed from the ovary of a single flower with a seed, or seeds, embedded on the inside of the flesh. To put it simply, berries have seeds on the inside of the fruit. ... So botanically speaking, strawberries don't meet the definition of a berry.