Why are cobras deadly?

Their venom is not the most potent, but the amount of neurotoxin they can deliver in a single bite (up to two-tenths of a fluid ounce) is enough to kill 20 people, or even an elephant. King cobra venom affects the respiratory centers in the brain, causing respiratory arrest and cardiac arrest