How do you find a ladybug?

The best places to look will be in lush plant growth (especially if there are aphids). Agricultural fields can make excellent collecting sites. Crops that are known to harbor ladybugs include forage fields like alfalfa, clover, and grains like wheat and corn (before it gets too tall).