Where did bloody mary come from?

Queen Mary I of England was also known as Bloody Mary, because of all the people who died during her reign because of religious differences. She was the daughter of King Henry VIII and Catherine of Aragon. There is also a cocktail called a Bloody Mary, made from tomato juice and vodka.