How long does it take to brine a chicken?

Generally, the longer the better, but it can vary depending on the thickness of the meat. For whole chickens, classic wet brines can be left on for a minimum of 12 hours and up to 2 days. Dry brines can be as short as a few hours, but ideally at least 12 hours and up to 3 days.