When do babies usually sit up?

Babies usually learn to sit independently between the ages of 4 and 7 months. Most babies can sit well for several minutes without support by the time they're 8 months old.

---

Your baby may be able to sit up as early as six months old with a little help getting into the position. Sitting independently is a skill that many babies master between 7 to 9 months of age.