How do you grow melons in minecraft?

Melon seeds can be planted only on farmland. They grow into a stem and produce a melon on any adjacent dirt, grass block, farmland, podzol or coarse dirt. If a melon is already occupying an adjacent dirt/grass or farmland spot, the stem does not grow any more melons until the melon is removed.