Is nurse ratchet a true story?

The novelist Ken Kesey based the character of Nurse Ratched, the villain of his 1962 novel, “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest,” on a real person—a nurse whom he once met while working the night shift in a psychiatric facility in Oregon. The story itself is fiction.