Who is yom kippur?

Yom Kippur is the holiest day in Judaism and Samaritanism. It occurs annually on the 10th of Tishrei, the seventh month of the Hebrew calendar. The day's observances consist of full fasting and ascetic behaviour accompanied by intensive prayer as well as sin confessions.