How did the purdue boilermakers get their name?

The Purdue University is in West Lafayette, Indiana. Starting in 1891, Purdue kept a fully operational steam locomotive for its engineering students. A newspaper referred to Purdue football players as burly boiler makers. The nickname stuck.