What do you call a knife sharpener?

According to not the mama, a knife sharpener is most often called a knife sharpener. Depending on what type you have it could be called a whet stone or a sharpening steel.

---

There are many names for this product: sharpening steel, honing steel, knife hone, honer, and so on. They are perhaps most commonly referred to as sharpening steel, but this is a misnomer.