What country was founded in nineteen seventy nine?

Three island countries became independent from the United Kingdom in 1979 - Saint Lucia on February 22, Kiribati on July 12 and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines on October 27. Also in April, 1979, Iran officially became an Islamic republic.