What's a symbiote?

A symbiote is an organism living in a symbiotic relationship, a close physical interaction, with another organism. The symbiotic relationship can be mutually beneficial to both symbiotes, can be beneficial to one symbiote and the other unaffected, can be parasitic, or competitive.