Is the movie catch me if you can based on a true story?

The Real Story of Conman Extraordinaire Frank Abagnale. Parts of Frank incredible life were depicted in the 2002 movie Catch Me If You Can, starring Leonardo DiCaprio. Both the film and a Broadway play in 2011 were based on Abagnale's own memoir with the same title, written in 1980.