Is global warming an issue?

Yes. Over the past 50 years, the average global temperature has increased at the fastest rate in recorded history, due to a never before seen accumulation of carbon dioxide and other air pollutants and gases in the atmosphere. This is melting glaciers, rising sea levels and disrupting habitats.