Why is kobe bryant called mamba?

Bryant adopted the nickname to separate his life on and off the court, according to a 2014 interview with The New Yorker. The nickname is inpired by an assassin (Beatrix Kiddo) in Quentin Tarantino's movie "Kill Bill"