How much trash is in space?

There are about 500,000 pieces of space junk down to items about 0.5 inches wide in orbit. Of those, about 21,000 objects are larger than 4 inches in diameter, and are being constantly tracked by the Department of Defense's U.S. Space Surveillance Network.