Where did the word flapjack come from?

"Flapjack" first appeared in the beginning of 16th century England as a name for a flat tart. “Flap” was used in the 1300s to mean “to flip.” “Jack” was used to refer to something that was smaller than normal. It is unknown when the two words were combined.