Why is connecticut the nutmeg state?

There are various explanations why Connecticut is unofficially called the nutmeg state. None of these have a strong basis in fact. The most plausible reason is that ships carrying spices from Asia, South America, and Africa, including nutmeg, all came to Connecticut first.