Why are some potatoes green?

The green color of the potato is caused by exposure to light. Light causes the potato to produce chlorophyll and also solanine. To prevent potatoes from turning green, store them in a cool, dark space with good air circulation.

---

exposure to light makes potatoes produce chlorophyll and the skin takes on a green tint. this same process also causes potatoes to produce solanine, which in some people can cause stomach issues.