What is a eon?

Scientists use the term eon to refer to a time period of one billion years, but more commonly the term is used to refer to any long, indefinite period of time.

---

An eon is a very long period of time not defined by any specific number of years. For example, the phrase, "many eons ago" can be found in many science fiction and science books alike.