Why don't people eat pork?

Pigs are considered unclean because a pig "cheweth not the cud" - they possess simple guts, unable to digest cellulose. They eat calorie-dense foods, not only nuts and grains but also less salubrious items such as carrion, human corpses and feces. Pigs were unclean because they ate filth.