What is a harlequin baby?

The term harlequin baby comes from the baby’s facial expression and diamond-shaped pattern of the scales like the 17th century entertainers, harlequins. As the skin cracks at places of movement the protective function of the skin is lost. The mortality rate for harlequin ichthyosis is high.