Why are some people color blind?

Usually, genes inherited from your parents cause faulty photopigments -- molecules that detect color in the cone-shaped cells, or “cones,” in your retina. But sometimes color blindness is not because of your genes, but rather because of: Physical or chemical damage to the eye.