Where does serotonin come from?

Serotonin is a neurotransmitter used in areas of the brain to regulate anxiety, happiness, and mood. It is also released in the GI tract, particularly the stomach and intestines, to help with digestion. And it is used by platelets in the blood to help with clotting.