What is ghost fishing?

Ghost fishing is a term that describes what happens when derelict fishing gear continues to fish. Derelict fishing gear, or "ghost gear," is any discarded, lost, or abandoned, fishing gear in the marine environment. This gear continues to fish and trap animals, and potentially kill marine life.