What is the heart memorial trophy?

The Hart Memorial Trophy, originally known as the Hart Trophy, is awarded annually to the "player judged most valuable to his team" in the National Hockey League. The original trophy was donated to the NHL in 1923 by David Hart, father of Cecil Hart, longtime head coach of the Montreal Canadiens.