Is chief hopper dead?

Are you thinking Chief Jim Hopper, supposedly killed in an explosion, may actually be in a Russian prison? Consider the hints: The musical cue, the post-credits scene, references to The American. Plus, in Hollywood, you don't die off-camera. Of course I know, but I would never spoil it for you!