Why do ostriches put their heads in the ground?

Ostriches don't bury their heads in the ground—they wouldn't be able to breathe! But they do dig holes in the dirt to use as nests for their eggs. Several times a day, a bird puts her head in the hole and turns the eggs. So it looks like the birds are burying their heads.