What is la brea carpet?

The La Brea Tar Pits are a group of tar pits in urban Los Angeles. Natural asphalt has seeped up from the ground in this area for tens of thousands of years. The tar is often covered over with dust, leaves, or water. Over many centuries, the tar preserved the bones of trapped animals.