What is bicarbonate soda?

bicarbonate soda, commonly known as baking soda, is a chemical compound with the formula Na H C O₃. It is a salt composed of a sodium cation and a bicarbonate anion. Sodium bicarbonate is a white solid that is crystalline, but often appears as a fine powder.