Can you substitute maple syrup for molasses?

Just like maple syrup, honey is another molasses substitute you can use in your baking. ... Again, molasses is more bitter, while honey is sweet, so the taste may be somewhat altered. Keep the measurements the same, and use one cup of honey for every one cup of molasses the recipe calls for.