What was the first captain underpants book?

According to Wikipedia, Dav Pilkey (he doesn't go by David, just D-A-V) wrote the first novel, The Adventures of Captain Underpants, in 1997. There are 12 books in the main series, and dozens more books in various forms, as well as the movie in 2017 and Netflix series in 2018.