How do you graft an avocado tree?

1. Cut 6-inch lengths of healthy branch tips that each contain several buds, using a sharp knife. 2. Make a T-shaped cut on a branch of the rootstock tree, about 12 inches from the trunk. 3. Examine the bud sticks you cut and placed in the bowl. 4. Bring the selected bud back to the rootstock.